Friday, May 11, 2012

Governor Announces New Appointments to the State Water Resources Control Board

On May 11, 2012, Governor Jerry Brown announced the appointments of Felicia Marcus and Steven Moore to the State Water Resources Control Board (“State Water Board”).

The State Water Board is responsible for water allocation and water quality protection in California.  While the State Water Board is permitted to contain five full-time salaried members, prior to the Governor’s announcement yesterday the board consisted of just three members: Chairman Charles R. Hoppin, Vice Chair Frances Spivy-Weber, and Tam M. Doduc.

Both new appointees are familiar with California water issues.  Ms. Marcus gained her experience with the Natural Resources Defense Council, Trust for Public Land, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  In addition, Ms. Marcus has been a member of the Delta Stewardship Council since 2010.

Mr. Moore, a civil and sanitary engineer, has served in multiple positions with the San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board, and also has experience working as an senior engineer, environmental analyst, and biologist.

Both positions require Senate confirmation.  If confirmed, Ms. Marcus and Mr. Moore would each serve a four-year term.

In addition to the appointments of Ms. Marcus and Mr. Moore, Governor Brown announced that Charles Hoppin will remain chair of the State Water Board.  Mr. Hoppin has served as chair since 2009.

For more information regarding this matter, please contact Rebecca R. Akroyd or the KMTG attorney with whom you normally consult.

No comments:

Post a Comment